Television Academy Honors Sean Penn With Bob Hope Humanitarian Award – The Hollywood Reporter

Sean Penn has an appointment with the Television Academy on November 16.

The actor, filmmaker, and founder of the Community Organized Relief Effort (CORE) will receive the Bob Hope Humanitarian Award at the organization’s Hall of Fame event. Held at the Television Academy headquarters at the Saban Media Center in North Hollywood, the event serves as a ceremony to introduce new members to the Hall of Fame.

This year, six new members will be noticed in turn, including Debbie Allen, Ken Burns, Bob Daly, Robert L. Johnson, Rita Moreno and Donald A. Morgan. The Hall of Fame honors small-screen legends “who have made outstanding contributions in the arts, sciences, or television management during their lifetime careers or through exceptional achievements.”

Debbie Allen, Ken Burns, Bob Daly, Robert L. Johnson, Rita Moreno and Donald A. Morgan

Debbie Allen, Ken Burns, Bob Daly, Robert L. Johnson, Rita Moreno and Donald A. Morgan

Kennedy Pollard / Getty Images; Ben Gabbe/Getty Images; Tommaso Boddi/Getty Images; Michael Loccisano/Getty Images; Bennett Raglin/Getty Images; Amy Sussman / Getty Images

As for Penn, he’s been isolated for “decades of activism,” much of which has promoted his work through CORE. The organization started as a disaster relief organization following the devastating earthquake in Haiti in 2010. Since then, CORE has advocated for humanitarian emergencies such as the COVID-19 pandemic and war in Ukraine.

The Bob Hope Humanitarian Award was established in 2002 to “honor an individual whose philanthropic efforts demonstrated Bob Hope’s own decades of selflessness and positive impact on society”. This year’s selection committee is chaired by Television Academy governors Kim Coleman and Michael Spiller. This is one of the highest honors awarded by the Television Academy Board of Directors.

“Sean’s activism and enormous humanitarian efforts have had a profound impact on the global community, and he has effectively used his platform to drive change,” said Coleman. Spiller added: “Sean has a responsibility to help those who need it most. From Haiti to Ukraine to Los Angeles, he is an inspiration to all of us.”

Allen, a six-time Emmy Award-winning director/choreographer, has worked extensively in almost every area of ​​the industry – from acting and performing to directing and producing hits like Grey’s Anatomy and Reputation.

Burns, a 16-time Emmy Award winner, has been making documentaries for over 40 years with credits on projects like Civil War, Baseball, Vietnam War, National Parks: America’s Best Ideas, The Central Park Five and most recently United States and the Holocaust.

Daly, a famous executive, started her career at the age of 18 at CBS. He eventually became the entertainment industry’s first president in a 25-year term. He went on to join Warner Bros., where he led the teams behind hits like Friend and ernavigated the rise of DVD and helped launch the WB.

As the founder of BET, Johnson helped change the face of television with the founding of the nation’s first black-owned cable network. In 2014, he entered the streaming show business with the launch of both ACORN TV and ALLBLK, a platform dedicated to black series and movies.

EGOT winner Moreno has a career spanning seven decades with credits including Westside Story, Electric Company, Sesame Street, Nine to Five, Oz, Cane, Happy Divorce, Jane the Virgin and Norman Lear rebooted One day at a time. Moreno’s awards include the Presidential Medal of Freedom from President George W. Bush, President Barack Obama’s National Medal of Arts, the Screen Actors Foundation Life Achievement Award, and the Screen Actors Guild Award. Kennedy Center Life Achievement and Peabody Award.

Morgan, a veteran cinematographer and 11-time Emmy Award winner, has a career that dates back to the late 1970s when he started out in lighting design. As a director of photography, his credits range from classics to modern times on everything like The Jeffersons, Silver Spoons, Mr. Belvedere, Home Improvement, Farm, Last Man Standing and The Connors.

“This year’s honorees have told the story of America through television in ways that will forever shape our history and culture,” said Rick Rosen, Hall of Fame selection committee chair , said. “Whether they have reshaped the industry itself through visionary leadership or created works of lasting value, these individuals will forever be remembered for their impact on the industry. with vehicle; and the Television Academy proudly preserves that.”

Along with Rosen, WME co-founder and head of the company’s television division, the committee includes veteran producer Marcy Carsey, Universal Studios Group president Pearlena Igbokwe, former Warner Bros. Peter Roth, Pat Ma Prods. Co-CEO Nina Tassler and Disney General Entertainment Content President Dana Walden.

Ahead of the presentation ceremony, the Academy will unveil four busts of former film stars Shonda Rhimes, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Joan Rivers and Katie Couric. Hall of Fame sponsors include Kia America and People.


Goz News: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, Sports...at the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably.

Related Articles

Back to top button