Prestigious Dan David Award named 9 historians who won the award

Nine emerging scholars of history from around the world have been announced as winners of the prestigious Dan David Prize, with each awardee receiving $300,000 to help further their work.

ViaRelated press

1:18 pm February 28, 2023

JERUSALEM — Nine emerging scholars of history from around the world were announced Tuesday as the winners of the prestigious Dan David Prize, with each awardee receiving $300,000 to advance their work. Surname.

The Dan David Prize panel says it recognizes historians for “changing our understanding of the past” by delving into under-researched topics and women’s complicity white slave ownership in U.S. history, to name just a few.The award is administered by Tel Aviv University.

“Insights into the past will be pervasive in every community,” said Aviad Kleinberg, historian and Dan David Prize board member. “A culture that doesn’t understand its past is like an individual with acute dementia.”

Dan David, the Romanian-born businessman who founded the foundation in 2001, was originally intended to recognize “outstanding contributions to humanity” with a prize pool of $1 million each for three winners. Past winners include renowned Canadian author Margaret Atwood, cellist Yo-Yo Ma, and Dr. Anthony Fauci, the United States’ leading infectious disease expert.

But in 2021, the award has shifted its focus to recognizing and supporting a range of early-career history scholars who may lack the resources to expand their research. Many of this year’s laureate researchers used innovative tools, including Adam Clulow from the University of Texas at Austin using virtual reality and video games to help young people access Cambodian history and Chao Tayiana. Maina from Kenya uses technology to preserve African artifacts.

Other 2023 winners include: Saheed Aderinto from Florida International University, Ana Antic from the University of Copenhagen, Karma Ben Johanan from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Elise Burton from the University of Toronto, Krista Goff from the University of Miami, Stephanie Jones‑ Rogers from University of California Berkeley, Anita Radini from University College, Dublin.

An awards ceremony is scheduled for May.


Goz News: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably.

Related Articles

Back to top button