Adam Sandler accepts the Mark Twain Award for Comedy


Comedian Adam Sandler will be honored by entertainment and comedy royalty when he accepts the Kennedy Center Mark Twain Award for American Humor on Sunday night.

Sandler, 56, first gained national attention as an actor on “Saturday Night Live.” After being fired from the cast after 5 years on the job, Sandler began an extremely successful film career spanning over 30 films, grossing over US$3 billion worldwide.

“Adam Sandler has delighted audiences for more than three decades with his films, music, and tenure as a fan-favorite actor on ‘SNL,’” Kennedy Center President Deborah Rutter said in a statement when Sandler’s award was announced in December. “Adam has created characters that make us laugh, cry, and cry with laughter.”

Sandler’s top hits include “Happy Gilmore,” “The Wedding Singer,” and “You Don’t Mess with the Zohan.” Although primarily known for his hilarious comedies and overgrown childish characters, Sandler has also excelled in a number of impressive roles such as the films “Punch Drunk Love” and “Uncut Gems”. “.

Mark Twain Award recipients are honored with a night of testimonials and tribute videos, often featuring the winners. Other comedians to receive the lifetime achievement award include Richard Pryor (first recipient in 1998), Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart, Carol Burnett and Dave Chapelle. Bill Cosby, the 2009 recipient, had his Mark Twain award canceled in 2019 amid multiple sexual assault allegations.

The longstanding comedy organization “SNL” offered more than its share of the 24 Mark Twain recipients; Sandler is the seventh actor to receive the award, along with Bill Murray, Tina Fey, Will Farrell, Billy Crystal, Eddie Murphy, and Julia Louise-Dreyfus. Show creator and producer Lorne Michaels won in 2004.

Among those scheduled to honor Sandler on Sunday night, according to the Kennedy Center, are Jennifer Aniston, Judd Apatow, Drew Barrymore, Steve Buscemi, Dana Carvey, Luis Guzman, Tim Herlihy, Tim Meadows, Idina Menzel, Conan O’Brien, Chris Rock, Rob Schneider, David Spade and Ben Stiller.

The ceremony will be broadcast in the US on CNN on March 26.


Goz News: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably.

Related Articles

Back to top button